Treasures Left Behind CD


This CD featured Arna Rennan with Loretta Kelley. Arna has translated several of these songs into English to help us understand more of the immigrants' experience and the life they left behind. Vocals, langeleik, and translations are by Arna. Hardanger fiddle is played by Loretta.

Treasures left behind are the sounds of the Hardanger fiddle found only in certain districts and in the songs that accompany dance tunes sung in dialect.

Listening to Arna's clear voice, and hearing the vibration of the Hardanger fiddle is like taking a visit to the old country.

1. Gamal Stev from Setesdal
2. Haugebonden - Ballad friom the Middle Ages
3. Noringen / Eg Ser Deg
4. Signelita: Ballad from the Middle Ages
5. Jondalsvisa - telespringar
6. Sa Sulla Ho Mor - slattestev
7. Hjerki Haukeland - slattestev
8. Rotneims Knut - Halling
9. Tukthusen/Jailhouse
10. Straumstoylvise
11. Eg Tenkjer Sa Titt Pa Min Bryllups Dag/My Wedding Day
12. Mitt Hjerte Alltid Vanker (My Heart returns to the Place of Jesus' Birth)

The cookie settings on this website are set to 'allow all cookies' to give you the very best experience. Please click Accept Cookies to continue to use the site.
You have successfully subscribed!
This email has been registered